North Missouri Workforce Region CLEO Caucus February 26, 2025 - Meeting Minutes

The North Missouri Workforce Region Chief Local Elected Officials met in open session on Wednesday, February 26, 2025. The meeting was conducted in-person at the Margaritaville Lake Resort in Osage Beach, Missouri as part of the County Commissioners Association of Missouri (CCAM) annual conference. The meeting was called to order by CLEO Chair Phillip Ray at 11:04 AM Roll Call was conducted for the Caucus and a quorum was established with 16 Commissioners in attendance. One additional commissioner joined after roll call, but prior to any business being conducted.

Presiding Commissioners Present

Mark Shahan	Leslie Cardwell	Joseph Kaimann	Dean Still
Adair County	Knox County	Lincoln County	Macon County
David Lomax*	Ryan Poston	John Lake	Sid Conklin
Marion County	Montgomery County	Ralls County	Randolph County
Dale Akey	Patrick Clark	Kyle Carroll	Mike Sager
Caldwell County	Clinton County	DeKalb County	Gentry County
Phillip Ray	Thomas Bullock	Ed Douglas	Bill Walker
Grundy County	Holt County	Livingston County	Nodaway County
Jubal Summers			
Worth County			

* Joined after roll call

Presiding Commissioners Absent

Steven Krueger	Wayne "Fid" Murphy Jr	Curtis Wheeler	Bill Allen
Clark County	Lewis County	Monroe County	Pike County
Lindsay G Gravett	Duane Ebeling	Terry Helmick	Joe Gildehaus
Schuyler County	Scotland County	Shelby County	Warren County
Brad Jarvis	Curtis Livingood	Scott Nelson	Jim Ruse
Andrew County	Atchison County	Buchanan County	Daviess County
Jack Hodge	Dick King	Jerry Allen	Robert Munden
Harrisson County	Linn County	Mercer County	Putnam County
Chris May			
Sullivan County			

<u>Guests</u>

Gary Baumann – Andrew County	Matt Shoemaker – Macon County	Jeff McLin – Macon County
Associate Commissioner	Associate Commissioner	Associate Commissioner
Doug Lensing – Mongomery County	Jason Lowry – Randolph County	
Associate Commissioner	Associate Commissioner	

WDB of North Missouri Staff

Brent Stevens - WDB, Executive Director

Open Session Meeting

CLEO Chair, Phillip Ray called the meeting to order and welcomed the commissioners.

A. Board Financial/Audit Updates

Executive Director, Brent Stevens, discussed the financial report that was provided before the meeting. He shared this report is sent to the commissioners and the Board on a quarterly basis.

Director Stevens also discussed the recent audit of North Central Missouri College and explained there were no findings in the report. The audit report was provided to the commissioners prior to the meeting.

B. Director's Report/Year-in-Review

Director Brent Stevens gave a performance report of the Board for PY 23 which outlined program enrollments and success rates, as well as the economic impact report that was provided by Future Works.

C. CLEO Annual Agreement/By-Law Update

Director Stevens and CLEO Chair Phillip Ray presented the Annual Agreement and By-Laws to the consortium. Stevens noted the only change in this year's agreement was the effective date to cover July 1, 2025 through June 30, 2026.

A motion was made by Sid Conklin and seconded by Mark Shahan to approve the Annual Agreement and By-Laws. A voice vote was conducted, and *the motion passed with no objections*.

D. Annual Fiscal Agent Agreement

Director Stevens presented an updated fiscal agent agreement between the CLEO Consortium and North Central Missouri College. Stevens noted the language regarding fiscal liability was updated to comply with a recent US Department of Labor review of the document.

Discussion was held regarding concerns with the CLEOs being responsible for costs that would be deemed unallowable. After discussion a motion was made by Dale Akey and seconded by Mark Shahan to approve the Fiscal Agent Agreement as presented. A voice vote was held that showed opposition, so a roll call vote was called for. *The motion passed with a vote of thirteen (13) in favor and four (4) opposed.* Those opposing were Leslie Cardwell, Dean Still, Ryan Poston, and Bill Walker.

E. Election of Officer

Director Stevens informed the Consortium, according to the By-Laws the CLEO Coordinating Committee members for PYs 2025 and 2026 would need to be elected. Stevens noted the following Commissioners volunteered: Chairperson – Phillip Ray, Vice-Chairperson – Mark Shahan, NE At-Large – David Lomax, NE At-Large – Sid Conklin, NW At-Large – Ed Douglas, NW At-Large – Scott Nelson.

A motion was made by Kyle Carrol and seconded by David Lomax to approve the presented slate. *The motion carried with no opposition.*

F. Open Discussion

Discussion was had about the current state of the workforce including discussion about the unemployment rate as well as the region's labor force participation rates. Phillip Ray also discussed Grundy County's use of the FastTrack program and recommended others look into utilizing this program.

A motion was made by David Lomax to adjourn the meeting. CLEO Chair Phillip Ray Adjourned the meeting at 12:59 PM.