Northwest and Northeast Workforce Regions CLEO Caucus Minutes of Meeting September 8, 2022 In-Person/Virtual

The Northwest and Northeast Regions Chief Local Elected Officials met in a joint open session on Thursday, September 8th, 2022. CLEO Chairs Phillip Ray (NW) and Chris Gamm (NE) called the meeting to order at 10:06 AM.

Roll Call was conducted for each Caucus. The Northeast Region established a quorum with seven commissioners present. The initial roll call for the NW region did not establish a quorum. Two NW commissioners joined after the initial roll call. Once these two joined the NW Region established a quorum with ten commissioners present.

NE Presiding Commissioners

| Chris Gamm | David Lomax | Deanne Whiston | John Tracy |
|----------------|--------------|----------------|-------------|
| Pike | Marion | Lewis | Randolph |
| Joseph Kaimann | Luther Green | Mike Whelan * | Glenn Eagan |
| Lincoln | Knox | Monroe | Shelby |

^{*} Commissioner Whelan Joined at 10:28 AM

| Bill Walker* | Bob Caldwell | Bud Motsinger | Jack Hodge |
|---------------|--------------|---------------|---------------|
| Nodaway | Andrew | Caldwell | Harrison |
| Jubal Summers | Lee Sawyer | Mike Sager | Robert Munden |
| Worth | Buchanan | Gentry* | Putnam |
| Phillip Ray | Ed Douglas | | |
| Grundy | Livingston | | |

^{*} Commissioner Sager Joined at 10:16 AM

Guests

| Donna Brake | Erica Davis | Gregg Roberts | Rebecca Fletcher |
|---------------|--------------|---------------|------------------|
| Yvonne Wright | Diane Simbro | | |

Staff

| Brent Stevens | Jeanie Griffin | Kerry Savage |
|---------------|----------------|--------------|

^{*} Commissioner Walker Joined at 10:18 AM

Meeting in Open Session

A. Merge NE and NW Caucuses to form North Missouri Caucus

WDB Executive Director Brent Stevens updated the commissioners on the process of the merger. He explained the next step was to combine the CLEO caucuses and create one caucus to cover the thirty-four counties of North Missouri.

Commissioner Ed Douglas from the NW Caucus made a motion for the Northwest Caucus to combine with the Northeast Caucus to form the North Missouri Caucus. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Lee Sawyer from the Northwest Region. A roll call vote was conducted with ten commissioners voting yea, zero nay, and no abstentions. The motion passed.

Commissioner Glenn Eagan from the NE Caucus made the motion for the Northeast Caucus to combine with the Northwest Caucus to form the North Missouri Caucus. The motion was seconded by John David Lomax from the Northeast Region. A roll call vote of the members in attendance was conducted. The vote of members in attendance was seven yea, zero nay, and no abstentions. Commissioner Whelan had technical issues and his vote was not recorded.

The NE CLEO By-Laws require approval by two-thirds of all commissioners to pass major business. The NE CLEO By-Laws allow for electronic voting to be solicited for members not present. After the meeting, an electronic voting form was sent to all commissioners not in attendance. Six electronic votes were submitted. All six votes were yea. This brought the total number of yea votes to thirteen. The Motion Passed.

B. By-Laws and Agreement

Director Stevens directed the commissioners to the draft By-Laws and agreement provided in the meeting packet. He explained the different sections of the document.

After discussion, a motion was made by Commissioner Ed Douglas and seconded by Commissioner Lee Sawyer to approve the CLEO By-Laws and Agreement for the newly formed North Missouri CLEO Caucus as presented. A roll call vote was conducted, and an electronic voting form was sent to NE Commissioners not in attendance. The vote concluded with twenty-two yea votes, zero nay votes, and no abstentions. Motion passed.

C. Designation of Fiscal Agent

Director Brent Stevens reviewed the draft fiscal agent agreement which was provided in the meeting packet. He informed the commissioners this agreement is the same agreement each region has with North Central Missouri College currently. He stated this would allow North Central Missouri College to continue being the fiscal agent of the North Missouri Region once it is officially formed.

After discussion, a motion was made by Commissioner Phillip Ray and seconded by Commissioner Ed Douglas to approve the fiscal agent agreement with North Central

Missouri College as presented. A roll call vote was conducted, and an electronic voting form was sent to NE Commissioners not in attendance. The vote concluded with twenty-two yea votes, zero nay votes, and no abstentions. Motion passed.

D. Election of Officers

Nominations were sought for officers of the newly formed CLEO caucus following the newly adopted by-laws. The two officers nominated are below:

Chairperson - Phillip Ray

Vice Chairperson – Glenn Eagan

The commissioners decided to elect all officers including at-large members in one motion, therefore no action was taken on the Chair and Vice Chairperson officers.

E. Election of At-Large Members of Coordinating Committee

Nominations were sought for At-Large Members of the Coordinating Committee. The commissioners nominated are listed below:

NE - Ryan Poston

NE - David Lomax

NW - Ed Douglas

NW - Vacant

Due to the NW At-Large position not having a nomination, the commissioners decided to continue seeking nominations and will vote electronically once a full slate of officers can be presented.

F. Appointment of Board Members

Director Stevens outlined the process of how Board Members will be appointed to the new Board. He let the commissioners know once the Board receives approval the commissioners will be responsible for making the nominations. He stated Board staff will assist with this process.

The meeting adjourned at 10:55 AM